Printer Friendly Version Print this thread
Email this thread to a friend eMail this thread to a friend
  • webmasters seo tools website is for sale (In: I Want to Sell My Website)
  • Managing Monthly SEO budget (In: Contextual Advertising - Adsense & Others)
  • Google's SEO Starter Guide (In: Google)
  • Keyword Research - The Key to SEO Success! (In: Google)
  • YouTube - Videos - Vlog and SEO (In: Google)
  • Featured Web Site Template

    Hundreds More at Free Site Templates.com!

    Web Site Partners
    Sponsored Links
    Jet City Software
     
    Whos Here ?
    Reflects user activity within the last 5 minutes
    Moderator(s): yellowwing
    Forum Index · Search Engine Forums · SEF Community and Networking · Professionals Corner · More SEO spams and scams? List and discuss.
    Member Message

    SportsGuy
    Staff
    Joined: Aug 30, 2002
    # Posts: 3600

    View the profile for SportsGuy Send SportsGuy a private message

    Posted: 2007-Nov-24 14:14
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    I just received the e-mail below. Apparently, my site, listed in the e-mail and highlighted, has won this award. I'm honored!

    ...except it's not my site they're talking about, and clicking the link leads to a directory listing (think folders/files, not links directory).

    Now, part of the e-mail shows my username and password - which work. When I clicked on my profile link

    Smells like spam to me unless anyone knows otherwise?

    ----------------------------------------------

    Hi Duane Forrester,

    We are proud to let you know that your company
    www25.a2hosting.com/~seoorg/newsletter has been selected as a "Certified
    SEO Company". Being SEO certified displays your credibility and
    contribution in the field of search engine optimization.

    The SEO certification is awarded free of cost to you based on your site
    www25.a2hosting.com/~seoorg/newsletter quality and level of SEO services.
    In the past, we have promoted and appreciated companies having excellent
    search engine optimization skills.

    To accept the certification and activate your profile login to:

    http://www.seocertificates.org/ - this URL is live and works
    Username: eZl6XPI8
    Password: DktjapP15

    Being SEO Certified helps you display "Certified SEO Company" logo on your
    website and assures your clients that you truly understand Search Engine
    Optimization and use it to the best of your abilities.

    If you are unable to login then please email us at [their e-mail was here]

    Regards,

    seocertificates.org

    This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential to the
    intended recipient and may be privileged. If you are not the intended
    recipient, please notify the sender immediately. Whilst we have used
    anti-virus software to alert us to the presence of computer viruses, we
    cannot guarantee that this email and any files transmitted with it are free
    from them.

    Protect the environment. Please don't print this e-mail unless you need to
    -----------------------------------------------------------

    I've left the URL in here not to promote but to allow folks to know exactly which site thi sis, in case they are contacted by them, too.

    best as I can tell, you login, they tell you you're "certified" for free - for 6 months, or you can buy the certification for about $1,000/year...

    To be clear, I did not contact them in any way, the website they list is basically a dead end, and is not one of my sites. I'm calling this phishing/spam, though I'm sure they would argue it. They talk about "criteria" and "reviewing your site", but the site they have listed in my profile is a 4+ year old domain name I used to use, which is dead and has no site up on it, so clear my info is way out of date.

    They also want me to:

    Step 2 :
    Please add logo on your web pages in order to complete the process. Displaying the logo on your website will authenticate the certification received by you.


    So, yeah, heads up folks - they want YOU to promote them in exchange for an unknown certification of undetermined quality...and then pay for the certification in the future (if I read that correctly on their site).



    mj1256
    Joined: Jun 05, 2006
    # Posts: 918

    View the profile for mj1256 Send mj1256 a private message

    Posted: 2007-Nov-24 20:54
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    what a great business model

    I've heard its easy to make a lot of money on the internet for very little work. now I know how smile

    thanks for sharing, I'm off to create my own certification program, backed by the same thing that backs the US dollar, and all the power vested in me, by me.

    I think I'll charge 5k

    [ Message was edited by: mj1256 11/24/2007 09:46 pm ]





    g1smd
    Staff
    Joined: Jul 28, 2002
    # Posts: 10438

    View the profile for g1smd Send g1smd a private message

    Posted: 2007-Nov-24 23:46
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message


    A lot of SEOs got the same mail in the last few days.


    Some of them also blogged about it:
    http://www.seo-scoop.com/2007/11/24/how-to-totally-screw-up-an-email-campaign/


    The username and password, if tracked, confirmed back to them, that your email address is active. Expect more spam soon.





    Quadrille
    Joined: Nov 15, 2000
    # Posts: 1064

    View the profile for Quadrille Send Quadrille a private message

    Posted: 2007-Nov-25 01:29
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    Google [Alza Management Institute] and all will be revealed.

    This is just the latest in a long line of SEO related scams.



    reena3
    Joined: Nov 23, 2007
    # Posts: 12

    View the profile for reena3 Send reena3 a private message

    Posted: 2007-Nov-26 08:25
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    Thanks for sharing it with everyone. It is wrong but hats off to their technique.



    nhd4me
    Joined: Oct 14, 2007
    # Posts: 43

    View the profile for nhd4me Send nhd4me a private message

    Posted: 2007-Nov-27 04:16
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    I agree with reena3, and think as far as 'scams' go its pretty clever ... the only problem I can see is that they chose the wrong target market as most SEO's would see through this ... wouldn't they??



    SportsGuy
    Staff
    Joined: Aug 30, 2002
    # Posts: 3600

    View the profile for SportsGuy Send SportsGuy a private message

    Posted: 2007-Nov-27 16:26
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    I got a redone version of the e-mail last night - this time without the bogus links in the text...LOL

    nhd4me, the real problem is that every person in a basement with a $20 software bundle can claim to be an SEO/SEM. The real scary thing is that some actually believe that because they bought that software, they are an SEO/SEM - they think they now do the same thing as the pros do.

    So, yeah, there are loads of folks who would sign up for this. Heck, once the logo is on your site, you could easily save the image or SnagIt, then dump the link and not pay for it after the 6 months is up - and STILL be able to show their logo there.

    Taken one step further, many folks just make up their own logo with a realistic sounding name on it, and many, many, clients believe it means something. sad

    Sad...



    excell
    Staff
    Joined: Mar 19, 2001
    # Posts: 14512

    View the profile for excell Send excell a private message

    Posted: 2007-Nov-28 16:00
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    hehhee. circus!

    Gotta love it: "It also shows the company's commitment to the SEO Code of Ethics."

    THE SEO Code of Ethics? um - where can I find that...Too much!

    [ Message was edited by: excell 11/28/2007 08:19 am ]




    Forum Index · Search Engine Forums · SEF Community and Networking · Professionals Corner · More SEO spams and scams? List and discuss.
    You are not permitted to post messages in this forum or topic, because of one or more of the following reasons:
    1. You have not yet logged in, or registered properly as a member
    2. You are a member, but no longer have posting rights.
    3. This is a private forum, for which you do not have permissions.

    If you are a recent member, it's possible that you simply have not yet confirmed your account. Please check your email for a message entitled 'JimWorld Forums: Confirm Your Account' and follow the instructions contained within.

    If you cannot find this message, click here to Re-Send it.

    If you are still experiencing problem, please read the Login Assistance Article for some advice on what may be causing your login not to work properly.

    Switch to Advanced Editor and ... Create a New Topic or Reply to this Thread

    New posts Forum is locked
    © 1995  ·  iWeb, Inc  ·  DBA JimWorld Productions