More Virtual Promote ... Gazette · Webmaster & SEO Tools · Scumware.com · Free Website Templates

SEF

Search Engine Forums
Helping to make the Web - Since 1998
Virtual Promote Member Spotlight
Sweepstakes Promotions

For your Web site -- Industry experts, reasonable prices. (WinningWays)

Login Password Forget your password?    Trouble Logging In?
.
Forums Index Active Topics New Topics My Topics Search My Profile Register Inbox   Rules & TOS
.
 
Forum Index · Search Engine Forums · Building, Hosting & Maintaining Your Website · Domains, Hosting, DNS & Server Issues · Is this a domain scam?
 
Add to hotlist
Reply to this thread Create a New Topic in this forum
Mark This Forum Read
Printer Friendly Version Print this thread
Email this thread to a friend eMail this thread to a friend  
Moderator(s): Prowler, jcokos
Previous Topic Next Topic
Member Message

altairastro
Joined: Jun 20, 2008
# Posts: 2

View the profile for altairastro Send altairastro a private message

Posted: 06/20/2008 09:28 am
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

I got this email from a chap in China who has since offered me the option to register these domains instead of a company called Safnet... Let me know what you guys think. He reckons he's with the Asian Internet Domains Register Dept. rolleyeys www.china-net.hk

here's the email:

Dear Manager,
We are the domain name register center in Asia, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally. I have something need to confirm with you. We have received an application formally,one company named " SafNetwork Service Limited" applies for , on the internet June 20. 2008. SafNetwork company wants to apply the following domain names and internet brand name:
1.Domain Name:
altairastro.asia
altairastro.cn
altairastro.com.cn
altairastro.com.hk
altairastro.com.tw
altairastro.hk
altairastro.in
altairastro.tw
.......etc.
2.Internet Brand Name: altairastro

We need to know the opinion of your company, because the domain names and keywords may relate to the usufruct of brand name on internet. We would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible. Please let someone in your company who is responsible for trademark or intellectual right contact me freely

Best Regards,
Angor.Huang
Sponsoring Registrar: Asian Internet Domains Register Dept.
Tel: +852-3075 9838
Fax: +852-3177 1510
Email: Angor.huang@dntcl.hk.cn
website: www.china-net.hk




SportsGuy
Moderator
Joined: Aug 30, 2002
# Posts: 3581

View the profile for SportsGuy Send SportsGuy a private message

Posted: 06/20/2008 11:54 am
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

Scam - skip it - been around for a while now. Sounds realistic, but it's not.

Skip it.



Prowler
Moderator
Joined: Aug 14, 2000
# Posts: 1697

View the profile for Prowler Send Prowler a private message

Posted: 06/20/2008 09:12 pm
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

As SportsGuy says - it is a scam. Been getting these mails in many forms. For Asia tld many "agents" charge several times over and above the normal registration charges.



altairastro
Joined: Jun 20, 2008
# Posts: 2

View the profile for altairastro Send altairastro a private message

Posted: 06/23/2008 12:50 am
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

thanks guys I thought as much but was curious to see the response. I was sent a word doc too which I was asked to read which obviously contained something dodgy smile all the best, Nick


 
Forum Index · Search Engine Forums · Building, Hosting & Maintaining Your Website · Domains, Hosting, DNS & Server Issues · Is this a domain scam?
Who's Online?
There are 139 guests and 1 members in the forums right now.
Reflects user activity within the last 5 minutes
Previous Topic Next Topic
You are not permitted to post messages in this forum or topic, because of one or more of the following reasons:
  1. You have not yet logged in, or registered properly as a member
  2. You are a member, but no longer have posting rights.
  3. This is a private forum, for which you do not have permissions.

If you are a recent member, it's possible that you simply have not yet confirmed your account. Please check your email for a message entitled 'JimWorld Forums: Confirm Your Account' and follow the instructions contained within.

If you cannot find this message, click here to Re-Send it.

If you are still experiencing problem, please read the Login Assistance Article for some advice on what may be causing your login not to work properly.

Switch to Advanced Editor and ... Create a New Topic or Reply to this Thread



Related Forum Topics
  1. Domain + php scripts for sale make an offer (In: I Want to Sell My Website)
  2. Is this a scam Internet Keyword Registrar (In: General Search Engine Optimization)
  3. Go Daddy domain aliasing (In: General Search Engine Optimization)



© 1995 - 2006  ·  iWeb, Inc  ·  DBA JimWorld Productions